Working Historians
Scott Black - Historian, Southern New Hampshire University

Scott Black - Historian, Southern New Hampshire University

October 30, 2020

Scott Black teaches history at numerous colleges and universities, including Southern New Hampshire University. In this episode, Scott talks about his academic and professional background, his career teaching history, and the challenges and rewards of writing historical fiction.

This episode’s recommendations: Sabaton: https://www.sabaton.net/ Various Authors, The American Yawp: https://www.americanyawp.com/

Karen Sieber - Humanities Specialist, McGillicuddy Humanities Center, University of Maine

Karen Sieber - Humanities Specialist, McGillicuddy Humanities Center, University of Maine

October 15, 2020

Karen Sieber is a Humanities Specialist for the Clement and Laura McGillicuddy Humanities Center at the University of Maine. In this episode we discuss her academic and professional background, the major public history research projects with which she has been affiliated, her work at the Humanities Center, and our history-related recommendations

Recommendations: Visualizing the Red Summer http://visualizingtheredsummer.com/ Goin’ North: https://goinnorth.org/ Chicago Defender:https://www.chicagodefenderarchives.org/ African-American Civil War Soldiers Project: https://www.zooniverse.org/projects/usct/african-american-civil-war-soldiers Monroe Work Today: https://plaintalkhistory.com/monroeandflorencework/ Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee: https://snccdigital.org/ Charleston Syllabus: https://www.aaihs.org/resources/charlestonsyllabus/ Christopher Tomlins, In the Matter of Nat Turner: A Speculative History (Princeton University Press, 2020), https://press.princeton.edu/books/hardcover/9780691198668/in-the-matter-of-nat-turner Rob’s interview with Christopher Tomlins for the New Books Network: https://newbooksnetwork.com/christopher-tomlins-in-the-matter-of-nat-turner-a-speculative-history-princeton-up-2020/

Adam Lehman - Assistant Professor, Guilford Technical Community College

Adam Lehman - Assistant Professor, Guilford Technical Community College

October 1, 2020

Adam Lehman is Assistant Professor of History at Guilford Technical Community College. In this episode we discuss his academic and professional background and his research into the missed privateering opportunities of the War of 1812.

This episode’s recommendations: Jeff Kinard, “Lectures in History: Civil War Weaponry,” C-Span, https://www.c-span.org/video/?465611-1/civil-war-weaponry Footnoting History Teaching Guide: https://www.footnotinghistory.com/teach.html

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App